top of page

The Artistry of Pure Genius: Ed Unitsky International Visual Artists & Designer


The talents of Ed Unitsky as an visual artist and designer could easily be summed up in just two words - Artistic Genius. Of course, for you the reader, this would a possible unsatisfying review, and leave you with more questions than answers. So give me a moment and let me see if I can come up with a few more words that will stimulate your eager little minds.

The biography that I received on Ed Unitsky is headed with the words, International Visual Artist and Designer. To me that sounds like he works for some high priced ad agency in Manhattan or Beverly Hills. No doubt with his unique talents he certainly could be. But thank God for all of us, he does not. This is not to say that Ed hasn't designed countless ads for promenade companies around the world, because he has. Moreover, his original artwork and designs have graced the covers of nearly 100 CD, DVD, digital albums and vinyl records for major recording artists from sea to shinning sea, as we say in the trades. In fact, his artistic talents have become so well known that his T-Shirts, posters and lithograph’s are now in demand not only from fans, but from art collectors as well.

But what's inside this mans mind? Where do his remarkable idea's come from? Does he hear voices, talk to the animals in the forest or is he simply driven by tonal variations in his ears? In a word, YES! Ed sees reality, weather real or not, and transforms it from deep passages in his subcontinent until it resurfaces from a dream like state into his own consciousness. To me, what he creates is totally psychedelic, capturing the essence of the Woodstock generation, which has been brought forth from ones inner mind, and has literally been inside another's soul.

I first became aware of Ed's artistic genius one day while I was perusing FaceBook and came across this brilliant surrealistic fantasy picture that I couldn't stop looking at. It turned out that the picture was done by Ed Unitsky, and that he had a page on FaceBook that showcased much of his artwork. There I found myself surrounded by breathtaking pieces of art like I had never seen before. More than simply incredible artwork, each piece draws you in as if there was a soul inside asking you to come closer and closer.

The diversity of his artwork is astounding. Psychedelic portraits of rocks star, next to surrealistic fantasy pictures of flying pirate ships and VW micro buses that are part fish. Magical forest filled with speaking trees and dancing animals, and if that wasn't enough for a normal person to doubt there sanity, there is unbelievable artwork of Ed's version of hell, and Jesus Christ, and, well, I might need a Quaalude before I can go on.

Needless to say, I purchased some of Ed's art, which I proudly display in the Great Hall, and in the master bed chamber of Castle Yandle. But buyer beware, these are not just groovy pieces of art, they are alive, and if they want, they can and will talk to you. I have one piece of his art in particular place that speaks to me each morning. I always stop and look into the picture, and each days its says the same thing to me, “Would you like to come inside and play with me”.

Last year when I was ready to put together my next music project I called on Ed to see if he would be interested in doing the artwork. Luckily for me he was, and he asked me to send him my music, some pictures and a biography on me. I did as he requested and in a few days he sent me what would be my CD cover. When I asked him how he came up with such an ingenious design, he simply answered, “I drifted away in your music and saw that you were a very old soul”.

I once described Ed Unitsky artwork on the same talent level as Salvador Dali, but upon closed examination, Ed Unitsky's brilliants make Dali's melting clocks just look like crayons that have been in the sun to long.

–store.com/gallery

www.facebook.com/Ed.Unitsky.facebook


Click Below To Order A Copy Of
Memoirs Of The Marquis De Sade
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page